California Independent Study/Non-Classroom Based Charter Schools

Updated: Sep 18



Non-classroom based charter schools are legally allowed to serve students who live in the county of the district that they are authorized by, as well as students in any adjacent county.  


Some charters may choose to serve fewer counties than they are legally authorized to. Others may have been told by their authorizer which counties they can serve. 


Many of the schools that are listed have been authorized in multiple counties. If you have a question whether the charter school you are interested in serves your county and the grade level you are looking for, please check directly with them, info often changes from year to year. 


We are including a lot of choices, since many have waitlists. We hope you find a program that fits your needs. We would suggest that you try to get on the waitlist at 3-4 schools.


Charter Schools by County:

A


Circle of Independent Learning K-12: https://www.coilk12.net


Connecting Waters Charter - East Bay K-12: https://www.cweastbay.org


KIPP: Public Schools K-12: https://kippnorcal.org/wp-signup.php?new=www.kippbayarea.org


B


CORE Butte Charter K-12: https://corebutte.org


HomeTech Charter K-12: https://www.hometech.org


Pivot Charter School North Valley II 6-12: https://www.pivotnorthvalley.com


C


Mountain Oak Charter K-12: https://www.mountainoaks.org




Golden Gate Community 6-12: https://www.cccoe.k12.ca.us/departments/educational_services/court_community_schools/goldengateschools


Vista Oaks Charter K-12: https://www.vistaoaks.net


D


Castle Rock K-12: https://ca50000461.schoolwires.net/domain/199


Uncharted Shores Academy K-9: https://shoresacademy.com


E


American River Charter K-12: https://arcs.bomusd.org


Charter Alternative Program K-8: https://charter.edcoe.org


Charter Community School Home Study Academy K-12: http://chsa.edcoe.org


Clarksville Charter School K-12:  https://clarksvillecharterschool.org


The Cottonwood School K-12: https://cottonwood.school


EDUHSD Virtual Academy at Shenandoah 9-12: http://www.edvirtualacademy.com


F


Ambassador Phillip V. Sanchez II Public Charter K-12: https://ambsanchezcharter2.org


Big Picture Educational Academy K-12: https://www.bpeducationalacademy.org


CAVA Fresno: https://cava.k12.com


Carter G. Woodson Public Charter 7-12:

https://www.agapeschools.org/carter-g-woodson-charter-school.html


Central Valley Homeschool K-8 : https://www.kesd.org/Domain/240


Clovis Online Charter 7-12: https://onlineschool.cusd.com


Crescent View South II K-12: https://cvsouth2.org


Crescent View West Public Charter K-12: https://cvwest.org


Dunlap Leadership Academy 9-12: https://dla.kcusd.com


Endeavor Charter K-12: https://www.endeavorcharterschool.com


Hallmark Charter K-12: https://hallmark.sanger.k12.ca.us


Yosemite Valley Charter K-12: https://yosemitevalleycharter.org


Kingsburg Elementary Charter K-8: https://www.kesd.org


School of Unlimited Learning 9-12: https://fresnoeoc.org/soul/


Sierra Charter K-12: https://www.sierracharter.org


W.E.B. DuBois Public Charter K-12:

https://www.agapeschools.org/web-dubois-charter-school.html


West Park Charter Academy K-12: https://www.westpark.k12.ca.us


G


Lake View Charter K-12: https://lakeviewcharterschool.org


Success One! 9-12: https://www.success1charter.org


William Finch K-12: https://sites.google.com/site/wmfinchcharter/


H


Alder Grove Charter School K-12: https://aldergrovecharter.org


Coastal Grove Charter K-8: http://www.coastalgrove.org


Northern United- Humboldt Charter K-12: http://www.nucharters.org


Pacific View Charter 2.0 K-12: https://pacificviewcharter.org


Six Rivers Charter High 9-12: https://sixriverscharter.nohum.org


South Bay Charter K-8: https://www.southbayusd.org/o/sbc


I


Imperial Valley Home School Academy K-8: https://www.ivhsa.org


K


Blue Ridge Academy K-12: https://theblueridgeacademy.com


CAVA K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Heartland Charter K-12: https://heartlandcharterschool.com


Valley Oaks Charter K-12: http://valleyoakscharterschool.org/elementary/





CAVA Kings K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Crossroads Charter K-12:

https://www.facebook.com/pg/crossroadscharteracademy/about/?ref=page_internal


Hanford Online Charter 9-12: https://www.hjuhsd.k12.ca.us/Domain/13


Kings Valley Academy II K-12: https://kingsvalleycharter2.org


Lemoore Online College Preparatory High 9-12: https://www.luhsd.k12.ca.us/Domain/136


Mid Valley Alternative Charter K-8: https://www.midvalleycharter.org


L


California Connections Academy K-12:

https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school




Long Valley Charter School K-12: https://www.longvalleycs.org


Mt. Lassen Charter K-12: http://fortsage.org/schools/mt__lassen_charter


Thompson Peak Charter K-12:

https://www.longvalleycs.org/Locations/Thompson-Peak-Susanville/index.html




Antelope Valley Learning Academy K-12: https://avlearning.org


Assurance Learning Academy 8-12: https://assurancelearning.org


CAVA LA K-12: https://cava.k12.com


California Pacific Charter- Los Angeles K-12: https://www.cal-pacs.org


Clear Passage Educational Center 9-12: http://www.cpecschool.org


Compass Charter Schools of Los Angeles K-12: https://www.compasscharters.org


Da Vinci Connect K-8: https://www.davincischools.org/schools/da-vinci-connect-tk-8/


Da Vinci Connect High School:

https://www.davincischools.org/schools/da-vinci-connect-high-school/


Da Vinci Extension: https://www.davincischools.org/schools/da-vinci-extension/


Da Vinci Remote 9-12: https://www.davincischools.org/schools/da-vinci-remote/


Da Vinci Rise High 9-12: https://www.davincischools.org/schools/da-vinci-rise/


Desert Sands Charter 9-12: https://dschs.org


Empower Generation 7-12: https://empowergenerations.org


Family First Charter 9-12: https://www.newopps.org/family-first-charter-school


Gorman Learning Center K-12: https://gormanlcn.org


iLEAD Exploration K-12: https://ileadexploration.org


iLEAD Hybrid K-12: https://ileadhybrid.org


iLEAD Online K-12: https://ileadonline.org


iQ Academy California-Los Angeles K-12: https://losangeles.iqacademy.com


Learning Works 7-12: https://www.publicworksinc.org/lw/


Matrix For Success Academy 9-12: http://www.matrix4success.org


Method Schools K-12: https://www.methodschools.org


Mission Academy 6-12: https://missionacademyhs.org


Mission View Public K-12: https://missionview.org


Opportunities for Learning 7-12: https://oflschools.org


Options for Youth 7-12: https://ofy.org


Sage Oak K-12: https://www.sageoak.education


School of Extended Educational Options K-12: https://seeo.pusd.org


SIATech Academy South 10-12: https://www.siatech.org


M


Chawanakee Academy Charter K-12: http://cac.chawanakee.k12.ca.us


Glacier High School Charter 9-12: https://www.glacierhighcharter.org


Madera County Independent Academy K-12: https://www.mcsos.org/domain/1107


Mountain Home Charter (Alternative) K-8: https://www.mountainhomecharter.org


Pioneer Technical Center K-12: https://www.mcsos.org/domain/1106


Sherman Thomas Charter K-12: https://www.stcsca.org


Yosemite-Wawona Elementary Charter K-6: https://www.yosemitewawonacharter.org




La Vida Charter K-12: http://lavidaschool.org




Merced Scholars Charter 6-12: https://mcoe.org/deptprog/edservices/students/MCScholars/Pages/charter.aspx




Bay View Academy K-8 : https://www.bayview-academy.org


Big Sur Charter K-12: http://www.bigsurcharterschool.org


Learning for Life Charter 7-12: https://lflcs.org


Monterey Bay Charter School K-8: http://mbayschool.org


Monterey County Home Charter K-12:

https://www.montereycoe.org/programs-services/charters/home-charter-school/


Virtual Preparatory Academy at Monterey K-12: http://monterey.virtualpreparatoryacademy.com


N


Arete Charter Academy K-8: https://arete.prsd.us


Forest Charter K-12: https://www.forestcharter.com


Grass Valley Charter K-8: https://grassvalleycharter.org


Twin Ridges Home Study Charter K-8: https://www.twinridgeshomestudy.org


Vantage Point Charter K-12: http://vpc.pvuesd.org


O


CA Connections Academy K-12:

https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school


Citrus Springs Charter K-12: https://springscs.org


Epic Charter School K-12: https://california.epiccharterschools.org


NUA Homeschool: https://www.nuahomeschool.org/


Opportunities for Learning - Capistrano 9-12: https://oflschools.org


Innovation High 9-12: https://innovationhigh.org


P


Creekside Charter K-8: http://creeksidesquaw.org


Harvest Ridge Cooperative Charter K-12: https://www.harvestridgeschool.org


Horizon Charter K-12: https://www.horizoncharterschools.org


Maidu Virtual Charter Academy 9-12: https://sites.google.com/puhsd.k12.ca.us/mvca/home


Placer County Pathways Charter K-12:

https://www.placercoe.org/Pages/PCOE/Educational-Services/Student-Services/Pathways-Charter/Pathways-Charter.aspx




Plumas Charter K-12: http://www.plumascharterschool.org


R


Excelsior Charter School Corona-Norco 7-12: https://excelsior.com


JCS K-12: https://www.jcs-inc.org


Mission Vista Academy K-12: https://missionvistaacademy.org


Pivot Charter School Riverside K-12: https://www.pivotriverside.com


Santa Rosa Academy K-12: https://www.sra.mn


Scale Leadership Academy K-12: https://www.scaleacademy.org


Springs K-12: https://springscs.org


S


California Innovative Career Academy K-12: http://www.hccts.org


Community Collaborative Charter K-12: https://www.gcccharters.org


Elk Grove Charter 7-12: http://egcs.egusd.net


Folsom Cordova K-8 Community Charter K-8: https://www.fcusd.org


Heritage Peak Charter K-12: https://pacificcharters.org


Marconi Learning Academy K-12: https://marconilearning.org


Natomas Charter K-12: http://www.natomascharter.org


Options for Youth-San Juan 7-12: https://ofy.org


Paseo Grande Charter K-12:  https://paseograndehs.org


San Juan Choices Charter 6-12: https://choicescharter.org


SAVA - Sacramento Academic and Vocational Academy 7-12:  https://www.gcccharters.org


Visions In Education K-12: https://www.viedu.org




Alta Vista Innovation High 8-12: https://innovationaltavista.org


ASA Charter K-12: http://www.asacharterschool.com


Elite Academic Academy K-12: https://www.eliteacademic.com


Empire Springs K-12: https://springscs.org


Excel Academy K-12: https://www.excelacademy.education


Excelsior Charter 7-12: https://excelsior.com


Sky Mountain K-12: https://skymountaincs.org


Gorman Learning Center K-12: https://gormanlcn.org


Granite Mountain K-12: https://granitemountainschool.com


Independence Charter Academy K-12: https://independencecharteracademy.com


Mirus Secondary 7-12: https://miruscharter.com


Mojave River Academy K-12: http://www.mojaveriver.net


Options for Youth 7-12: https://ofy.org


Provisional Accelerated Learning Academy 6-12: https://www.palcenter.org


Sage Oak Charter K-12: https://www.sageoak.education


Sky Mountain K-12: https://skymountaincs.org


Taylion High Desert Academy/Adelanto K-12: www.taylionhighdesert.com


Vista Norte Public Charter K-12: https://vistanortecharter.org




Audeo Charter School K-12: https://www.audeocharterschool.net


B.E.S.T. Academy 3-12: https://www.bestacademycs.com


Cabrillo Point Academy K-12: https://cabrillopointacademy.org


CALPAC K-12: https://www.cal-pacs.org


CAVA K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Charter School of San Diego 6-12: https://charterschool-sandiego.net


Chula Vista Learning Community Charter K-12: http://schools.cvesd.org/schools/cvlcc/Pages/default.aspx#.XxfQoC2z00o


Classical Academy K-12: https://classicalacademy.com


Community Montessori K-8: https://www.cmcharter.org


Compass Charter K-12: https://www.compasscharters.org


Diego Valley K-8: https://diegovalleyeast.org/k-8-program/


Diego Hills K-8: https://dhcentralcharter.org/k-8-program-2/


Dimensions Collaborative K-12: https://www.dimensions.org


Elite Academic Academy K-12: https://www.eliteacademic.com


Excel Academy K-12: https://www.excelacademy.education


Escondido Charter High 9-12: https://echs.amhcs.org


Greater San Diego Academy K-12: https://www.gsdacademy.com


Grossmont Secondary 7-12: https://grossmontsecondarycharter.com


Guajome Learning Center K-12: http://www.guajome.net


Ingenuity Charter 6-12: https://www.ingenuitycharter.org


Innovations Academy K-8: https://innovationsacademy.org


Insight @ San Diego K-12: https://ca.insightschools.net


JCS K-12: https://www.jcs-inc.org


Literacy First Charter K-12: https://www.lfcsinc.org/freedom_academy/


Method Schools K-12: https://www.methodschools.org


My Academy: https://myacademy.org


National University Academy 1001 STEAM 6-12: https://nuacademy.org/1001-steam-6-12/


Pacific Coast Academy K-12: https://pacificcoastacademy.org


Pacific View K-12: https://pacificview.org


Pivot Charter School - San Diego II K-12: https://www.pivotsandiego.com


River Valley Charter 7-12: https://rivervalleyhigh.org


Sage Oak K-12: https://www.sageoak.education


San Diego Mission Academy 6-12: https://sdmissionacademy.org


San Diego Virtual 6-12: https://sdvirtualschools.com


San Diego Workforce Innovation High 9-12: https://innovationsandiego.org


Springs K-12: https://springscs.org


SIATech 10-12: https://www.siatech.org/our-approach/


Sparrow Academy K-8: https://www.sparrowschool.org


Sweetwater Secondary 7-12: http://sweetwatersecondarycharter.com


The Heights Charter K-8: http://www.heightscharter.org


The Learning Choice: https://www.learningchoice.org




KIPP Public Schools K-12: https://kippnorcal.org/distance-learning/





California Connections Academy K-12:

https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school


California Virtual Academy K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Delta Charter K-12: https://www.deltacharter.net


Escalon Charter Academy K-12: https://www.escaloncharteracademy.org


Insight K-12: https://ca.insightschools.net


one.Charter K-12: https://sjcoe.org/onecharter/


Rio Valley Charter K-12: https://pacificcharters.org/about/schools/riovalleycharterschool/


San Joaquin Building Futures Academy 9-12: https://www.sjcoe.org/buildingfutures/


Tracy Independent Study Charter 7-12: https://tracycharter.tracy.k12.ca.us


Valley View Charter Prep K-12:  https://pacificcharters.org


Venture Academy K-12: http://www.ventureacademyca.org




CAVA K-12: https://cava.k12.com


KIPP: Public Schools K-12: https://kippnorcal.org/wp-signup.php?new=www.kippbayarea.org




California Connections Academy Central Coast K-12: https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school


Family Partnership Charter K-12: https://www.fpcharter.org


Olive Grove Charter K-12: https://olivegrovecharter.org


Orcutt Academy Charter K-12: http://orcuttacademy.orcuttschools.net


Santa Barbara Charter K-8: http://sbcharter.org


Trivium Charter K-12: https://www.triviumcharter.org





KIPP: Public Schools K-12:

https://www.cde.ca.gov/SchoolDirectory/details?cdscode=43694500129205


Opportunity Youth Academy 9-12: https://www.sccoe.org/depts/students/oya/pages/default.aspx




California Connections Academy Monterey Bay: https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school


Ocean Grove Charter:  https://ogcs.org


Pacific Coast Charter: https://pccs-pajaro-ca.schoolloop.com




Cottonwood Creek Charter K-8: https://www.cottonwoodcreekcharter.com


New Day Academy K-12: https://newdayacademy.net


Northern Summit Academy K-12: http://www.ns-academy.org


Phoenix Charter Academy K-12: https://www.ourpca.org


Redding Collegiate Academy K-12: https://rca.eesd.net


Shasta Charter Academy 9-12: https://www.sca-edu.org


Stellar Charter K-12: http://stellar.reddingschools.net





Golden Eagle Charter K-12: https://www.gecs.org


Northern United- Siskiyou Charter K-12: http://www.nucharters.org




Elise P. Buckingham Charter Magnet High 9-12: https://buckingham.vacavilleusd.org


Ernest Kimme Charter Academy for Independent Learning 7-12: https://isp.schoolloop.com


Kairos Public School Vacaville Academy K-8: https://www.kairospublicschools.org




California Pacific Charter K-12: https://www.cal-pacs.org


California Virtual Academy K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Heartwood Charter K-12: https://heartwoodcharterschool.org


Mark West Charter K-8: https://www.markwestcharter.org


Northwest Prep Charter 7-12: https://www.northwestprep.org


Orchard View K-12: https://www.orchardviewschool.org


Pathways Charter K-12: https://www.pathwayscharter.org


Pivot Charter School K-12: https://www.pivotnorthbay.com




Connecting Waters Charter K-12: https://www.connectingwaters.org


Connecting Waters Central Valley K-12: https://www.cwcentralvalley.org


Denair Charter Academy K-12: https://dca.denairusd.org


eCademy Charter at Crane K-12: https://www.turlock.k12.ca.us


Fusion Charter 7-12: https://www.fusioncharter.org


Hart-Ransom Academic Charter K-12: http://www.hart-ransomcharter.com/index.html


Hickman Charter K-8: https://hcs.hickmanschools.org


Keyes to Learning Charter K-12:

https://www.ktlcharterschool.com/apps/pages/index.jspuREC_ID=1427300&type=d&pREC_ID=1564076


Oakdale Charter 7-12: https://oakdalecharter.com




California Virtual Academy K-12: https://cava.k12.com


Feather River K-12: https://featherrivercharter.org


South Sutter Charter K-12: https://southsuttercs.org


Sutter Peak Charter Academy K-12: https://pacificcharters.org/about/schools/sutterpeakcharteracademy/


Winship Community K-8: https://winshipcommunity.org


T


Evergreen Institute of Excellence K-12: https://eie.evergreenusd.org


Lassen-Antelope Volcanic Academy (LAVA) 5-8: https://lcs-aesd-ca.schoolloop.com


Lincoln Street School K-8: https://www.lincolnstreetschool.org


Tehama eLearning Academy 7-12: https://www.telacademy.org




Butterfield Charter K-12: https://butterfield.portervilleschools.org


California Connections Academy@Central K-12: https://www.connectionsacademy.com/california-online-school


Charter Home School Academy K-8: https://www.vusd.org/site/default.aspx?PageType=3&ModuleInstanceID=10065&ViewID=82ad4dc1-ff8e-4c91-9428-7a2a172acda0&RenderLoc=0&FlexDataID=25118&PageID=59


Crescent Valley Public Charter II K-12: https://crescentvalley2.org


Eleanor Roosevelt Community Learning Center K-12: https://erclc.org


Monarch River Academy K-12: https://monarchriveracademy.org


Sierra Vista Charter High 9-12: https://svchs.tjuhsd.org


Valley Life Charter K-12: http://vlcs.org


Visalia Charter Independent Study 7-12: https://www.vusd.org/site/default.aspx?PageType=3&ModuleInstanceID=10065&ViewID=82ad4dc1-ff8e-4c91-9428-7a2a172acda0&RenderLoc=0&FlexDataID=25153&PageID=59




Gold Rush Charter K-12: http://goldrushcs.com/countryschool/welcome-gold-rush-country-school-web-page


V


Camarillo Academy of Progressive Education K-12: http://www.camarillocharter.org


Golden Valley Charter K-12: https://goldenvcs.org


IvyTech Charter 7-12: https://www.ivytechcharterschool.org


Peak Prep Pleasant Valley P-12: https://sites.google.com/peak-prep.org/pppv/home


River Oaks Academy K-12: https://www.riveroakscharter.com


Valley Oak Charter School K-12: https://www.valleyoakcharter.org/index.html


Ventura Charter School of Arts and Global Education K-8: http://www.venturacharterschool.org


Vista Real Charter High 9-12: https://vrchs.org


Y


Compass Charter Schools K-12: https://www.compasscharters.org




CORE Charter K-12: https://www.corecharter.org


Yuba County Career Prep Charter K-12: https://www.yubacoe.org/site/Default.aspx?PageID=16


About Homeschool Concierge

 

Homeschool Concierge is a community of California homeschoolers connecting the world around us right here in our backyard. We invite you on this adventure of learning!

 

 

Get all the info

right in your inbox!

 

Don't Miss a Trip!